- How the Nine Domains Are Published
- How the Domains Map to the Two Exams
- Domains 1-4: The Finance Foundations Block
- Domains 5-7: The Core Risk Practice Block
- Domains 8-9: Practicum and Governance
- The Weights at a Glance
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Registration, Fees, and Exam Logistics
- Where These Domains Show Up on the Job
- Frequently Asked Questions
- PRMIA publishes nine content domains; the printed percentages are proportions across both exams combined, not per-exam weights.
- Credit Risk and Counterparty Credit Risk carries the largest printed weight at 15%, but the Enterprise Risk Management domain's weight is blank.
- Visible percentages total only 84%; do not assume the missing 16% belongs to any single domain.
- Exam 1 has 60 standalone questions; Exam 2 has 84, including 20 practicum questions in four scenarios.
How the Nine Domains Are Published
The Professional Risk Managers' International Association (PRMIA) publishes the Professional Risk Manager exam content as nine domains in the PRM Test Specifications section of its Candidate Guidebook (revised March 2025). These are the issuer's own exam-objective domains, not categories invented by a prep provider. That distinction matters: when you build a study plan, the domain list below is the authoritative map of what the exam can ask.
The current curriculum transition dates from August 29, 2024, and preparation is built around the Professional Risk Manager Handbook Series, 2024 Edition. If you are using older notes or a pre-2024 handbook set, treat them as supplementary at best and check them against the current domain names.
This guide covers the standard two-exam pathway to the full Professional Risk Manager designation. It does not address the Associate PRM, Exam 1 in isolation, or the historical four-exam structure. For a broader orientation to the credential itself, see What Is PRM Certification? and PRM Certification.
How the Domains Map to the Two Exams
The Professional Risk Manager designation is earned through two separately booked exams, both delivered through Pearson VUE test centers or OnVUE online proctoring. Neither is a single sitting, and the combined 144 questions across eight hours is simply arithmetic, not one marathon exam.
| Feature | Exam 1: Finance Foundations | Exam 2: Risk Management Practices |
|---|---|---|
| Total questions | 60 standalone multiple-choice | 84 multiple-choice |
| Question composition | All standalone | 64 standalone plus 20 practicum questions in four five-question scenarios |
| Time allowed | Four hours | Four hours |
| Answer format | Four options, one correct | Four options, one correct |
| Passing requirement | At least 60% | At least 60% |
Candidates may take the exams in either order. The exams are English only and closed book, and you use the integrated TI-30XS calculator rather than a personal one. That calculator constraint should shape how you practice quantitative domains: if you drill on a financial calculator or spreadsheet, you will lose time translating methods on exam day. For difficulty context, see How Hard Is the PRM Exam?
Domains 1-4: The Finance Foundations Block
The first four domains build the quantitative and conceptual base that the rest of the curriculum depends on. They line up with the Exam 1 title, Finance Foundations, though PRMIA does not publish a per-exam percentage table that would let you assign each domain's weight precisely to one exam. Treat them as the groundwork you need before the risk-practice material makes sense.
Domain 1: Finance Theory (12%)
Finance Theory
This domain covers the theoretical machinery behind pricing, return, and risk-reward tradeoffs. Expect to apply concepts, not just define them.
- Time value of money and discounting logic
- Portfolio theory, diversification, and the risk-return relationship
- Asset pricing frameworks and the assumptions behind them
- Interpreting how theory breaks down in real markets
Domain 2: Financial Instruments (10%)
Financial Instruments
Here you must understand what the products are, how they pay off, and what risks they transmit.
- Fixed-income securities and their sensitivity to rates
- Equity and equity-linked products
- Derivatives: forwards, futures, swaps, and options
- Payoff structure and the risk embedded in each instrument
Domain 3: Financial Markets (11%)
Financial Markets
This domain is about the venues, participants, and mechanics through which instruments trade and risk moves.
- Market structure and the role of intermediaries
- Liquidity, funding, and how stress propagates
- Interaction between market conditions and instrument behavior
Domain 4: Mathematical Foundations of Risk Measurement (9%)
Mathematical Foundations of Risk Measurement
The smallest of the first four by printed weight, but it underpins every quantitative question later in the curriculum.
- Probability distributions and their use in risk modeling
- Statistics for risk measurement and estimation
- Correlation, volatility, and the limits of historical data
- Calculations you can execute on the TI-30XS
Because Domain 4 supplies the vocabulary used in market risk, credit risk, and operational risk, candidates who treat it as a low-weight afterthought tend to struggle when the same concepts reappear embedded inside later scenarios. A modest printed weight does not mean modest importance.
Domains 5-7: The Core Risk Practice Block
These three domains form the heart of the Risk Management Practices material and include the single largest printed weight in the whole table.
Domain 5: Enterprise Risk Management Frameworks & Operational Risk Management Practices
This is the domain with a blank weight cell in the published table. PRMIA does not print a percentage here, and it would be a mistake to infer one. Visible percentages across the other eight domains sum to 84%, but the guidebook does not state that the remainder belongs to this domain, so any claim about its exact share would be speculation.
Enterprise Risk Management and Operational Risk
Prepare for this domain as a full content area despite the missing number. Questions can test both the architecture of an enterprise-wide risk program and the practical identification and control of operational losses.
- Risk governance structures and the roles of the board and management
- Risk appetite, risk identification, and risk reporting at the enterprise level
- Operational risk categories, loss events, and control frameworks
- How operational risk practices connect to capital and oversight
Key Takeaway
Never skip a domain because its weight is blank. A blank cell means PRMIA did not publish a figure, not that the domain is unimportant. Allocate study time to Domain 5 on the same basis as any other core domain.
Domain 6: Credit Risk and Counterparty Credit Risk (15%)
This is the largest explicitly printed percentage in the table. Be careful about what that does and does not prove: because Domain 5's weight is blank, you cannot conclude that credit risk is definitively the largest domain overall. What you can say is that it carries more printed weight than any other domain whose percentage is published.
Credit Risk and Counterparty Credit Risk
Expect both conceptual and quantitative questions, and expect the topic to surface again inside practicum scenarios.
- Components of credit exposure and loss
- Credit assessment, ratings, and default concepts
- Counterparty credit risk in derivatives and trading relationships
- Mitigation: collateral, netting, and limits
Domain 7: Market Risk, Asset Liability Management, and Funds Transfer Pricing (13%)
Market Risk, ALM, and Funds Transfer Pricing
This domain blends trading-book thinking with balance-sheet management, which is why it appeals to candidates headed for banks and treasury functions.
- Measuring and limiting market risk exposures
- Interest rate risk in the banking book and asset-liability gaps
- Liquidity and funding considerations on the balance sheet
- Funds transfer pricing as an internal mechanism for allocating funding cost
Domains 8-9: Practicum and Governance
Domain 8: Case Study Practicum (12%)
The practicum is listed as its own domain, but it behaves differently from the others. On Exam 2, the 84 questions include 64 standalone items and 20 practicum questions arranged in four scenarios of five questions each. The practicum draws on the other domains rather than introducing a separate body of content.
Two limitations are worth stating plainly. First, the equal Exam 1 topic question counts do not directly reproduce the printed percentages, so you cannot back-solve question numbers from the table. Second, the practicum allocations and footnote wording are ambiguous. Prepare for the format rather than trying to decode the arithmetic.
Working the Practicum
Each scenario presents a business situation followed by five linked questions. Practice reading a scenario once for context, then extracting the specific figures and conditions each question needs.
- Expect to combine credit, market, and operational concepts in one scenario
- Budget time so one dense scenario does not crowd out the standalone items
- Use the TI-30XS fluently so calculations do not become the bottleneck
Domain 9: PRMIA Standards and Governance (2%)
The smallest printed weight, covering the professional standards and governance expectations associated with the designation. Its low weight makes it efficient to study: a focused review can capture most of the available points. Do not neglect it entirely, since a handful of questions on a 144-question aggregate can matter when you are near the 60% threshold on a given exam.
The Weights at a Glance
| Domain | Name | Printed Weight (Both Exams) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Finance Theory | 12% |
| 2 | Financial Instruments | 10% |
| 3 | Financial Markets | 11% |
| 4 | Mathematical Foundations of Risk Measurement | 9% |
| 5 | Enterprise Risk Management Frameworks & Operational Risk Management Practices | Blank (not published) |
| 6 | Credit Risk and Counterparty Credit Risk | 15% |
| 7 | Market Risk, Asset Liability Management, and Funds Transfer Pricing | 13% |
| 8 | Case Study Practicum | 12% |
| 9 | PRMIA Standards and Governance | 2% |
The visible percentages total 84%. Do not distribute the remaining 16% across the domains, and do not assign it wholesale to Domain 5. PRMIA does not state how the gap is allocated, so a sound plan covers all nine domains and treats the table as directional guidance rather than a precise blueprint. For more on how scoring works, see PRM Passing Score 2026.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because the exams can be taken in either order and the domains build on each other, a domain-driven sequence beats a read-the-handbook-cover-to-cover approach. One logical ordering follows the dependency chain from foundations outward.
Quantitative groundwork
- Domain 4 first, since probability and statistics feed every later domain
- Practice every calculation on the TI-30XS from day one
Theory, instruments, and markets
- Domains 1, 2, and 3 together, so payoffs and market mechanics reinforce each other
- Sit Exam 1 once these feel solid
Risk practice
- Domain 6 early in this phase given its printed weight
- Then Domain 7, then Domain 5 with full attention despite the blank weight
Integration
- Domain 8 scenario practice that mixes credit, market, and operational questions
- A short pass through Domain 9 standards material
For a fuller plan and resource list, see the PRM Study Guide 2026, and keep the PRM Cheat Sheet handy for last-week review. When you are ready to test retention domain by domain, the PRM practice tests let you target weak areas before committing to an exam date.
Registration, Fees, and Exam Logistics
Domain knowledge is only half the picture; the mechanics of booking matter too. The following reflects current published terms, with the caveats the issuer's own pages create.
Current Pricing
| Member Category | Per Exam (USD) | Two-Exam Bundle (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Sustaining / Corporate / RIM members | 650 | 1,200 |
| Contributing members | 700 | 1,350 |
| Nonmembers | 800 | 1,500 |
| India Sustaining members | 540 | 1,080 |
Digital handbooks and one attempt per authorization are included. The pricing table lists a USD 175 application fee, but its current footnote waives that fee and states that relevant experience is confirmed after the exams and before the designation is awarded. Some bundle language on the site is member-focused, yet a nonmember bundle price is also published; both appear on the issuer's pages. For the full cost picture, see PRM Certification Cost 2026.
Eligibility and Timing
Eligibility is satisfied by qualifying graduate education or a current CFA, CIIA, or FRM designation; alternatively, a bachelor's degree plus two years of relevant full-time work experience, or four years of relevant full-time work experience. Relevant experience means financial services, associated regulatory or rating work, or risk management in any industry. Holders of CFA, CIIA, or FRM may qualify for an Exam 1 exemption. The details are in PRM Requirements 2026.
- Retakes require a new authorization and a 60-day wait.
- Results are normally available within 15 business days.
- Individual authorizations last one year; bundles last two years.
- PRMIA currently excludes both test-center and remote delivery in Quebec.
A current-version public pass rate is not verified, so be skeptical of any specific figure you encounter; the PRM pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
Where These Domains Show Up on the Job
The domain list maps closely to the work done in banks, asset managers, insurers, regulators, and corporate treasuries. Credit and counterparty credit risk knowledge is central to credit risk and derivatives counterparty roles. Market risk, ALM, and funds transfer pricing fit treasury, balance-sheet management, and trading risk functions. Enterprise and operational risk frameworks map to risk governance, internal control, and operational resilience teams. Because eligibility accepts risk management experience in any industry, the credential is not limited to banking.
One maintenance point deserves attention. Lifetime PRM Qualified status does not authorize professional use of the designation; annual Sustaining membership maintains PRM Holder status. The newer maintenance tiers distinguish Active PRM Holder status with 20 annual CRL credits from ordinary PRM Holder status, while some lower legacy text still requires 20 credits for all holders. That conflict is unresolved on the issuer's pages, so confirm your obligations directly rather than assuming credits are universally optional or universally required. For market context, see PRM Jobs, PRM Salary Guide 2026, and Is the PRM Certification Worth It?
Key Takeaway
Build your plan around the nine published domains, not the table's arithmetic. Cover all nine, weight your hours toward the larger printed percentages, give Domain 5 full attention despite its blank weight, and verify logistics with PRMIA before booking.
Frequently Asked Questions
PRMIA publishes nine domains, from Finance Theory through PRMIA Standards and Governance. They span both exams, and the printed percentages are proportions across both exams combined rather than per-exam weights.
Credit Risk and Counterparty Credit Risk has the largest explicitly printed percentage at 15%. Because the Enterprise Risk Management and Operational Risk domain has a blank weight, that does not prove credit risk is the largest domain overall.
The visible percentages total 84% because one domain's weight cell is blank. PRMIA does not state how the remainder is allocated, so no remainder should be assumed or assigned to any particular domain.
No. It is two separately booked four-hour exams: Exam 1 with 60 standalone questions and Exam 2 with 84 questions including 20 practicum questions. You need at least 60% on each, and you may take them in either order.
No. The exams provide an integrated TI-30XS calculator and personal calculators are not permitted. Practice quantitative domains with that calculator so exam-day calculation is fast and familiar.